So I have had this book for a long time now I've always had time to quickly look over it but never found the time to actually commit and do the exercises. I started this Thursday on the train and obviously using C++ before the first chapter has been painless, but it has also showed me some things I didn't fully understand and how to implement certain things like Enum.

Although I had an idea of how Enums worked I had never implemented one before so this was a great learning experience for me. It might seem simple but sometimes the simple things are what we overlook in programming and getting a refresh and a firm grasp on them can make future programming less painful.

That's all for today I just wanted to share my thoughts so far as I get ready to begin second semester on Monday, I look forward to discussing and posting code examples and problems I have uncounted and how I plan to overcome them. 

The following link is for the third edition I am currently working from the second but this is just the newest iteration.

Learning C++ through game programming (book)
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Beginning-C-Through-Game-Programming/dp/1435457420

Thanks
Rob Watling



Leave a Reply.